Q & A: Questions

Snooker Cue


Posted on 26th October 2003 by Dave Williams of Halifax, West Yorkshire.

Consider the following: The blue ball is spotted with the white in a straight line to it and to the middle pocket. The striker attempts to play a soft screw but unintentionally miscues. The white leaves the bed of the table, hits the blue on the near side ( closest to the striker) but then continues over the blue.

Is this a foul as the white did not strike the blue on the opposite side and hence did not pass over the object ball before striking it?
Read the reply


Posted on 19th October 2003 by Chris Godfrey of Preston, Lancashire.

I've been playing snooker for a few years and have recently noticed that after playing a few frames my index figure and thumb (I play left handed) start to hurt and small bits of skin start to peal away.

Is there any way I can stop this, any suggestions are welcome.
Read the reply


Posted on 17th May 2003 by Eric Day of Birmingham.

Recently a friend asked me what were the rules about the white ball leaving the table surface as he said that he was able to jump the ball to get out of a snooker.

I seem to recollect that the ball must not be more than six inches high but I must admit that such a move would be hazardous to the table and surely would be discouraged I should think?
Read the reply


Posted on 19th April 2003 by Craig Hooks of Texas.

I am in search of snooker table balls placement measurements. I have been to countless sites but no layouts.  I have recently purchased a 5x10 Macon Table and had it recovered with Simonis.  I do not have dimensions however on ball placements. Could you guide me?
Read the reply


Posted on 12th April 2003 by Michael Egan, of Nenagh, Co. Tipperary.

A player inadvertently picked up the cue ball by mistake - he thought the ball had entered a pocket - and placed it in the "D".   What penalty did he incur?
Read the reply


Posted on 9th March 2003 by Elroy Fernandes of Brighton.

I have an ash snooker cue but do not like the varnish on it - it is very sticky even after cleaning which makes it difficult to cue smoothly. Please can you tell me how to remove the varnish from the cue without ruining the ash wood.
Read the reply


Posted on 8th February 2003 by Aman Dhand of Oxford.

During a recent televised snooker game the progress of the game was disrupted by two balls near the corner pocket. The game was then re-racked for the second time. The TV commentator suggested that what should have been done was, to remove the obstructing ball if both players agreed and continue the match. Is this possible?
Read the reply


Posted on 8th February by Glenn Watterson of Sydney, Australia.

If either player needs a snooker can you call foul and a miss?
Read the reply


Posted on 26th January 2003 by Alan Patient of London.

In the American game of pool, what is the number of the black ball?
Read the reply


Posted on 29th December 2002 by Sumit Bhargava of Brussels.

I am new to this game and play it with a friend who teaches me most of the rules as we go along. There is one he tells me that is tough to digest and I would like to seek clarification. When potting, assuming the distance between the cue ball and object ball is not more than 6 inches (and not touching), is it a foul if I push the cue through beyond the position that the object ball had occupied?
Read the reply


Posted on 29th December 2002 by Bill Readdy of Uxbridge.

In a game of doubles, when the game ends up as a draw and the black is then re-spotted, does the game then carry on in the same player order, or can the next team to play change their player order?
Read the reply


Posted on 21st December 2002 by Eric Day of Birmingham.

During a game it is dicovered that the blue is in a pocket and no-one knows how or when this occurred. What should happen now?
Read the reply


Posted on 16th November 2002 by Jim Bibby of Birkenhead.

Our rule-book says that, when the cue ball and object ball are close to each other, a player can avoid a push-shot by making the thinnest possible contact with the object ball... but how do you judge "thinnest possible contact"?  I would have thought that the object ball would hardly move, but my regular opponent always claims he is making such contact, yet by hitting the cue ball hard he moves the object ball a foot or more (frequently potting it). How far would a referee allow the object ball to move before calling it a push shot?
Read the reply


Posted on 3rd November 2002 by Clint Christianson of Chicago, USA.

What is the largest size snooker table found in a snooker hall? Last year I played snooker at a hall in Ireland and the table seemed to be well over 12 feet in length and 6 feet in width ....is this possible? My friends argued saying that there is no way a table can be over 12 feet in length. If possible can you also direct me to a web site stating table sizes to confirm or dispute this minor wager?
Read the reply


Posted on 11th October 2002 by Matt Corran of Sydney, Australia.

Is there a "rule" you can apply to determine what angle the cue-ball will take after hitting the object ball, or is it just a matter of experience? I suspect there must be some sort of rule, judging by the way that billiards players can make long in-offs with such accuracy.
Read the reply


Posted on 5th October 2002 by Ian Cartledge of Sydney, Australia.

Would you be able to point me in the right direction on where I can obtain a book or visit a website that will teach me how to make a snooker cue. I have been playing this game for 25 years and am interested in making cues.
Read the reply


Posted on 5th October by Dave Lewis of Wainuiomata, New Zealand.

A player pots the green ball in the bottom corner pocket. When the green is replaced on its spot a full ball snooker occurs with reds remaining on the table. He attempts to come off the bottom cushion with side but makes contact with the green ball. Is this a foul and a miss?
Read the reply


Posted on 22nd September 2002 by Phil Ditum of Woking.

Is there a rule about which part of the cue must strike the cue ball? If the answer is "only the tip may" are you allowed to add more than one tip to a cue?
Read the reply


Posted on 16th August 2002 by Phil Briggs of Welwyn Garden City.

Which player made the first live televised 147 - I repeat LIVE 147?
Read the reply


Posted on 27th July 2002 by Andrew Cummins of Cambridge.

I would like to know if there has ever been a snooker match that has been played over 140 frames or more in competition?
Read the reply


More Questions


Snooker Cue